EerieCon Seven Celebrating Fantasy, Horror, and Science Fiction
[About Us]

Science Fiction Conventions WebRing
Join Now | Ring Hub | Random
<< Prev | Next >>


Allen Steele

Allen M. Steele, Jr. became a full-time science fiction writer in 1988, following publication of his first short story, "Live From The Mars Hotel". Since then he has become a prolific author of novels, short stories, and essays, with his work appearing in England, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Brazil, Russia, Israel, the Czech Republic, Poland, and Japan.

Steele was born in Nashville, Tennessee. He received his B.A. in Communications from New England College in Henniker, New Hampshire, and his M.A. in Journalism from the University of Missouri in Columbia, Missouri. Before turning to SF, he worked for as a staff writer for daily and weekly newspapers in Tennessee, Missouri, and Massachusetts, freelanced for business and general-interest magazines in the Northeast, and spent a short tenure as a Washington correspondent, covering politics on Capitol Hill.

His novels include Orbital Decay; Clarke County, Space; Lunar Descent; Labyrinth of Night; The Jericho Iteration; The Tranquillity Alternative; A King of Infinite Space; Oceanspace; Chronospace; and Coyote. He has also published four collections of short fiction: Rude Astronauts; All-American Alien Boy; Sex and Violence in Zero-G; and American Beauty. His work has appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction, Analog, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Omni, Science Fiction Age, Journal Wired, Science Fiction Chronicle, Locus, Fantastic and The New York Review of Science Fiction, as well as in many anthologies. He writes regular columns for Absolute Magnitude and Artemis.

His novella "The Death Of Captain Future" received the 1996 Hugo Award for Best Novella, won a 1996 Science Fiction Weekly Reader Appreciation Award, and received the 1998 Seiun Award for Best Foreign Short Story from Japan's National Science Fiction Convention. It was also nominated for a 1997 Nebula Award by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.

His novella "`...Where Angels Fear to Tread'", upon which Chronospace is based, received the Hugo Award, the Locus Award, the Asimov's Readers Award, and the Science Fiction Chronicle Readers Award in 1998, and was also nominated for the Nebula, Theodore Sturgeon Memorial, and Seiun awards.

His novelette "The Good Rat" was nominated for a Hugo in 1996, and his novelette "Zwarte Piet's Tale" won an AnLab Award from Analog and was nominated for a Hugo in 1999. His novelette "Agape Among the Robots" was nominated for the Hugo in 2001.

His novella "Stealing Alabama" and novelette "The Days Between", both part of the novel Coyote, were nominated for Hugos in 2002. In addition, "Stealing Alabama" won the 2002 Asimov's Readers Award, and "The Days Between" was a Nebula Award finalist in 2003.

Orbital Decay received the 1990 Locus Award for Best First Novel, and Clarke County, Space was nominated for the 1991 Philip K. Dick Award. He was First Runner-Up for the 1990 John W. Campbell Award, received the Donald A. Wollheim Award in 1993, and the Phoenix Award in 2002.

Steele serves on the Board of Advisors for both the Space Frontier Foundation and the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and he is a former member of the SFWA Board of Directors. In April, 2001, he testified before the Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics of the U.S. House of Representatives, in hearings regarding space exploration in the 21st century.

He lives in western Massachusetts with his wife Linda and their two dogs. His hobbies including collecting vintage SF books and magazines, Nordic skiing, kayaking, and building model spacecraft.

Official Website